2742

Blackburn, Thomas

From:Kocher TerrieSent:Monday August 31 2009 2 31 PMTo:Blackburn ThomasSubject:FW Newsletter Summer 2009 - Continuing Education

-----Original Message-----From: Wm. W. Gorman, Jr [mailto wwgorman@msn.com] Sent: Friday, August 21, 2009 2 12 PM To: ST, ENGINEER Subject: Re. Newsletter Summer 2009 - Continuing Education

Dear People

I read the material but did not specifically find out how many Continuing Education Credits (C E) will be required for renewal of existing licenses except that more than 24 hours can not be carried over

If from the above I assume that 24 hours per biennial renewal period are required I have the following comments

1 Courses from pre approved providers may be difficult for out of state licensees to attend if they are concentrated in Pennsylvania

2 Illinois requires 30 hours of C E per biennial but does not require that the providers be preapproved only that the courses are relevant to the practice of engineering

3 Florida requires courses by preapproved providers but requires only 8 hours of C E of which 4 must be a laws rules and ethics course. The Florida Civil Engineering Society is approved and provides these courses in a full day. Many approved on-line providers are approved for both the required Laws. Rules and Ethics course as well as a vast number of engineering practice courses. Many out of state people requested assistance in using non-preapproved providers but the Department of Regulation stated that since so few hours were required and on-line courses were available they declined to change any requirements.

I suggest that the State of Pennsylvania coordinate with the State of Florida to combine as many preapproved providers for Continuing Education for both on-site and on-line as possible that can be used for *both or either* State registration. From personal experience I have had to travel many miles out of Florida to take continuing education courses in my field (Chemical Engineering) for approval. I try to cover all my Illinois 30 hours with Florida approved courses so there is no question of their applicability toward C. E. credit. Florida has the further requirement that a course can not be duplicated in subsequent biennial period. Since Florida's requirement is only 4 hours (The Laws Rules Ethics course is exempt from duplication since it is required to be DUPLICATED in the biennium) the Florida Board refused to waive the duplication (or non-duplication) requirement. I would hope you will allow duplication with a skip in biennial renewals. After all, we can all learn something new from taking a course over or learn something more completely.

William W Gorman Jr Pennsylvania License P E 062-027616 wwgorman@msn com